RECENT WORK…

December 22, 2008

dsc03768

“Winter Up Weldgelydrid” Acrylic on canvas ,   40″ x 70″

This is a painting I did that will used for a fellow teacher at my school.  It will serve as a wintry backdrop for a miniature replica rural village.  There are little houses and people and trees placed on cotton for snow, so I gave them an environment in which they can exist with proper atmospheric conditions for the time of day.

Mr. S stated that he wanted dusk, but that he wanted to avoid overtly dramatic sunset colors in favor of a more toned down feel. What I tried to portray was a freshly fallen snow storm that has given way to clear, but cold evening skies.  My geographic inspiration was a mix of Weld and Rangeley with possibly a side of Madrid thrown in.

I finished the piece after a day of riding at Saddleback Mountain.  The molasses-quick Rangeley chair lift at Saddleback repeatedly gave me a solid block of time to study what snow looks like on pine trees.  It is better not to rush some things in life.

One Response to “RECENT WORK…”

  1. MOM said

    Outstanding, Joe!! A view that I have not seen before….. I can almost see Madrid from my chair!

Leave a comment